Challenge 2: The Story of The Music Industry, Recording and Illegal Downloading

For Challenge 2, I decided to focus on the evolution of the literal objects that music has been recorded on throughout history and how the transition from analog to digital music recording drastically altered the entire recording and music industry.  Record companies branded an artist and an object together, selling millions of cassettes, records, and cds.  However, when the MP3 was invented the record companies no longer had anything to brand because everything was digital.  As the popularity of the MP3 and digital music began to grow, so did the popularity of finding these files for free via programs like Napster and Limewire.  This was another hit for the record company industry because besides no longer being able to sell an object they were no longer able to sell anything because people were obtaining it for free.  This transition has altered the music industry forever and is continuing to lower music sales drastically.

The process creating this video was a lot harder then excepted because it is such a broad subject with many different angles and tons of information.  For the first version of not just my movie but also my timeline, I was not exactly sure what angle and aspect of this topic I was going to focus on, which was present in my work.  I did not really know where I was going next in my beginner movie and I did not have the story down.

However, now looking at my final version I think once I decided on a particular aspect of my topic to focus on, my work became more clear.  I looked at how the programs that were invented after the MP3 became popular (i.e. Itunes, Limewire, Youtube, Napster, etc.) effected the recording industry and tried to visualize just how drastic this effect was.

Through this project I learned the skills of using Imovie.  I have never used this program before but it has always been something that I wanted to learn and I am so glad I can now use this program for other assignments.  I will not just use the narrative story telling format in future movies but also power points, essays and presentations.  I think it is a lot easier for people to follow work if they are taken through it as a story.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Music Industry, Recording & Illegal Downloading from chloe k on Vimeo.

Leave a comment